Training and Preparations for the Long Trail Run

Greetings!

Next weekend I will embark on my mission to run the Long Trail, in sections, and in completion, from South to North.  I am doing so in order to raise money and awareness for preventative healthcare… not too mention see much of the beautiful state of Vermont!  100% of the donations (see below for crowdrise link) goes to the Community Health Centers of Burlington, who not only set an example of supporting and providing for preventative healthcare -they excel at it!  Already, we have raised 22% of our $5,000 goal!!

Always a runner, I started amping up my training this past winter.  Most of the time I just run how long I feel like running, which varies between an hour and four hours, and, almost exclusively on trails.  Since moving back to Vermont in late April I have hit up many of the summits closer to me, such as Mt. Mansfield, Camel’s Hump, and Mt. Abe.

The first section will start in North Adams, MA (along Rt. 2) and head up to the Southern Terminus at the border of VT and MA.  On Friday, July 20th we will run from this start until we land near the road crossing with VT Route 9, which is approximately 20 miles total.  Most likely we will set up camp somewhere near Maple Hill, or, use the Melville Nauheim Shelter just south of Little Pond Mountain.  On Saturday, July 21st, We will rise early so we can make a big day of it!  Crossing Little Pond, Glastenbury and, eventually, Stratton Mountain, I suspect we will greet the evening crashing into the tent and sleeping soundly at the Stratton Pond Shelter.  Sunday, July 22nd, the last day out on the trail (for this section) is full of rolling hills through the Green Mountain National Forest.  We finish at the road crossing of VT Rt. 11 & Rt. 30.  Then, next stop will be pizza, most certainly.

Due to trying to pack as light as possible, I will be keeping track of my memories of the trip on paper (old school, I know) and taking pictures with my phone.  I plan to update my blog after I return from each section throughout the summer.  I am aiming to finish the Long Trail by early September.  In between running sections, I will be working as an ICU nurse at Fletcher Allen Hospital in Burlington, VT, where I work 36 hours a week -which is full time.  🙂

Please support this cause, and, let me know if you have any interest in running a section… I am flexible!

Website: http://www.crowdrise.com/longtrailrun/fundraiser/bethannmurphy

Happy Trails,

Beth

